Services 2017-2018

CoSer 528 - Industry/Education Activities Coordination

A. Basic Career Education Services:

All of the options listed below could be integrated into curricula addressing the New York State Learning Standards for Career Development & Occupational Studies (CDOS.)

  • Career Education Speakers
  • Phone Interviews for Career Research Project
  • Career Day Events
  • Career Panels
  • Job Shadowing - individual or small group, for students (primarily juniors & seniors) and/or educators
  • Career-related field trips including tours of business and industry sites
  • Mock Interviews
  • Working Worlds in-service for educators
  • Architectural Awareness Program - Middle School level
  • Educator Staff Development including Career Plan Training & CDOS Workshops
  • Student Data tracking - customized district reports of all activities - BEDS data for work-based learning and business involvement

Fee is based upon district K-12 enrollment excluding out-of-district special education students.

Modified base services are available upon request with a meet-and-agree to determine level of services. Fees are based upon the specific request, the amount of staff time required, and direct program expenses. Modified base services are a short-term agreement until funding is restored.

B. Mentoring Programs

career education focused, middle school and high school, customized to fit the needs of the district requesting services

C. High School Internships

unpaid short-term placements, based upon career interest.

D. Service Learning

customized programs focusing on integration of service learning into classroom instruction

E. Additional Career Services

cost based upon request and staff time. Examples: summer school career-related services, requests for additional staff time, after-school career programs, Pre-K career services, Career Plan support, Career Plan Portfolio review, scholarship search assistance, CDOS Online Course, and any customized new programs.

F. Youth Leadership Institute

one week summer leadership workshop for sophomores and juniors. Sessions focus on leadership development plus the opportunity to develop a public speaking presentation.

CDC Annual Report for 2016-17
Download the PDF of our Annual Report by clicking the image or this link
A group participating in ABL training

Corning Incorporated Foundation

Fund for Women at the Community Foundation of Elmira-Corning and the Finger Lakes

United Way of the Southern Tier

Community Foundation of Elmira-Corning and the Finger Lakes

The Triangle Fund

Watkins Glen International R.A.C.E. Foundation

Corning Federal Credit Union

Corning Incorporated

Corning Community College

Guthrie Clinic LTD

Arnot Ogden Medical Center

NYS Police

US Army

Cornell Cooperative Extension

Cornell University

Cameron Manufacturing & Design Incorporated

Chemung Canal Trust Company

Steuben County Sheriff's Department

Career Development Council Staff Group Picture 2017-2018

Staff Emails

Career Development Council Staff Assignments 2017-18

Susan Pawlak

supawlak@gstboces.org

Executive Director

Deb Flint

dflint@gstboces.org

Addison

Joyce Vanskiver

jvanskiver@gstboces.org

Avoca, Campbell-Savona

DeLaine Preston

dpreston@gstboces.org

Bath, BOCES CTE Coopers Campus, Bradford

Amy Towery

atowery@gstboces.org

BOCES CTE Bush Campus

Alisa Wright

awright@gstboces.org

BOCES CTE Wildwood, Hammondsport, Prattsburgh

Debra Jay

djay@gstboces.org

BOCES STEM Academy (P-TECH) ,Elmira Heights, Extended School Day (EH & ESCD)

Chris MacNaughton

cmacnaughton@gstboces.org

Canisteo-Greenwood, Hornell

Cindy Dubots

cdubots@gstboces.org

Corning-Painted Post

Jean Coons

jcoons@gstboces.org

Elmira (EDA only), Notre Dame*

Deb Lynch

dlynch@gstboces.org

Horseheads

Cindy Williams

cywilliams@gstboces.org

Odessa-Montour, Watkins Glen

Robin Ott

rott@gstboces.org

Spencer-Van Etten, 21st Century Grant (OM, SVE, Wav, WG)

Sarah Sassman

ssassman@gstboces.org

Waverly, Sayre*

Mary Jo Earley

mjearley@gstboces.org

Regional District and Career Development Council Support

Joann Costley

jcostley@gstboces.org

Regional District and Career Development Council Support

Sue Strack

sstrack@gstboces.org

Regional District and Career Development Council Support

*Not through BOCES

"There is always one moment in childhood
when the door opens and lets the future in."
- Graham Greene

Contact Information and Form

 

Address:

Career Development Council
459 Philo Road, Elmira, NY 14903

Satellite Office:
9579 Vocational Dr., Painted Post, NY 14870

Phone:

607-795-5320
607-654-2305 (satellite)

Hours:

Monday - Friday: 8am - 4:30pm
Your message has been sent. Thank you!